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Dear :

The New York State Office of the Medicaid Inspector General (the "OMIG") completed an
audit of transportation services. The audit reviewed Medicaid fee-for-service transportation
claims for Medicaid recipients who were hospital inpatients on the date of service, and claims
to verify that the vehicle license number and driver's license number listed were authorized at
the date of service.

In accordance with Section 517.6 of Title 18 of the Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and
Regulations of the State of New York (18 NYCRR), this report represents the final
determination on issues found during the OMIG's review.

After reviewing your response to the OMIG's December 27, 2012 Draft Audit Report, the
overpayments in the Final Report remain unchanged to those cited in the Draft Audit Report.
The total Medicaid overpayment is $7,372.06, inclusive of interest.

In accordance with 18 NYCRR Part 518 which regulates the collection of overpayments, your
repayment options are described below.

OPTION #1: Make a full payment by check or money order within 20 days of the date
of the f inal report. The check should be made payable to the New York State



Department of Health and be sent with the enclosed Remittance Advice form, signed
and dated, to:

New York State Department of Health
Medicaid Financial Management

GNARESP Corning Tower, Room 2739
Albany, New York 12237

OPTION #2: Enter into a repayment agreement with the Office of  the Medicaid
Inspector General to have the overpayments applied against your future Medicaid

recoveries of amounts due are subject to interest charges at the prime rate plus 2%. If
the process of establishing the repayment agreement exceeds 20 days from the date
of the f inal report, the OMIG will impose a 15% withhold after 20 days until the
agreement is established. The OMIG may require financial information from you to
establish the terms of the repayment agreement. If additional information is requested,
the OMIG must receive the information within 30 days of  the request or a 50%
withhold will be imposed. OMIG acceptance of the repayment agreement is based on
your repaying the Medicaid overpayment as agreed. The OMIG will adjust the rate of
recovery, or require payment in full, if  your unpaid balance is not being repaid as
agreed. The OMIG will notify you no later than 5 days after initiating such action.

If  you wish to enter into a repayment agreement, you must forward your written
request within 20 days to the-following:

Collections Management Group
New York State Office of the Medicaid Inspector General

800 North Pearl Street
Albany, New York 12204

Do not submit claim voids or adjustments in response to this Final Report.

If  within 20 days you fail to make full payment or contact the OMIG to make repayment
arrangements, the OMIG will establish a withhold equal to 50% of your Medicaid billings to
secure payment and liquidate the overpayment amount, interest and/or penalty, not barring
any other remedy allowed by law. The OMIG will provide notice to you no later than 5 days
after the withholding of any funds.

In addition, if you receive an adjustment in your favor while you owe funds to the State, such
adjustment will be applied against the amount owed.

You have the right to challenge this action and determination by requesting an administrative
hearing within sixty (60) days of the date of this notice. In accordance with 18 NYCRR
Section 519.18(a), "The issues and documentation considered at the hearing are limited to



issues directly relating to the final determination. An appellant may not raise issues regarding
the methodology used to determine any rate of payment or fee, nor raise any new matter not
considered by the department upon submission of objections to a draft audit or notice of
proposed agency action."

If you wish to request a hearing, the request must be submitted in writing to:

General Counsel
Division of Counsel

New York State Office of the Medicaid Inspector General
800 North Pearl Street

Albany, New York 12204

If a hearing is held, you may have a person represent you or you may represent yourself. If .
you choose to be represented by someone -other than an attorney, you must supply along
with your hearing request a signed authorization permitting that person to represent you. At
the hearing, you may call witnesses and present documentary evidence on your behalf.

Questions concerning this audit may be directed to .

Sincerely,

Office of the Medicaid Inspector General

Enclosure

CERTIFIED MAIL
RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED



NEW YORK STATE
OFFICE OF THE MEDICAID INSPECTOR GENERAL

REMITTANCE ADVICE

NAME AND ADDRESS OF AUDITEE

ABA Transport Corporation
83-03 24th Avenue
East Elmhurst, NY 11370-1660

AMOUNT DUE: $ 7.37

Provider 

AUDIT #2012Z31-105T

[XI PROVIDER
AUDIT [ ] RATE

[ ] PART B
[ ] OTHER:

CHECKLIST

1. To ensure proper credit, please enclose this form with your check.

2. Make checks payable to: New York State Department of Health

3. Record the Audit Number on your check.

4. Mail check to:

New York State Department of Health
Medicaid Financial Management

GNARESP Corning Tower, Room 2739
File #2012Z31-105T

Albany, New York 12237

5. If the provider number shown above is incorrect, please enter the correct number
below.

CORRECT PROVIDER NUMBER
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BACKGROUND, PURPOSE AND SCOPE

The New York State Department of Health (DOH) is responsible for the administration of the
Medicaid program. As an independent off ice within DOH, the OMIG conducts audits and
reviews of providers of Medicaid reimbursable services, equipment and supplies. These
audits and reviews are directed at assuring provider compliance with applicable laws,
regulations, rules and policies of the Medicaid program as set forth in NY Public Health Law,
NY Social Services Law, regulations of the Department of Health, (Titles 10 and 18 of the
NYCRR), Medicaid Provider Manuals, and Medicaid Update publications.

The OMIG initiated a review of your Medicaid payments for transportation services paid from
January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2011. The review looked at:

Transportation claims billed fee-for-service during an inpatient stay;
Transportation claims with incorrect driver's license for date of service;
Transportation claims with incorrect vehicle license plate for date of service.

In addition, a review of Medicaid transportation ambulette claims with payment dates from
June 1, 2011 through May 31, 2012 showed that in numerous instances the driver's license
was disqualified on the date of service.

Please note that due to the implementation of the National Provider Identifier (NPI) on
September 1, 2008, there may be multiple Provider Identification Numbers associated with
the Primary Provider Identification Number. The NPI is linked to the Primary Provider
Identification Number The Primary Provider Identification Number is used for
correspondence and recoupment

DETAILED FINDINGS

The exhibits are detailed in four categories. All or a combination of the following four exhibits
are included in this Final Audit Report.

1. Transportation Billed Fee-for-Service During an Inpatient Stay

Transportation services are included in the Diagnostic Related Group (DRG) and per diem
when a Medicaid recipient is admitted to a Public Health Law Article 28 hospital facility.
When the hospital that admitted the patient sends the patient round trip to obtain a diagnostic
or therapeutic service, the admitting hospital is responsible for the transportation services.

A review of claims for transportation services, with payment dates from January 1, 2008
through December 31, 2011, showed that in numerous instances Medicaid was
inappropriately billed a transportation claim for services provided to a hospital inpatient. The
admitting hospital is responsible for the reimbursement of the ambulance or other
transportation service for the transport of the patient.
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Claims for transportation services occurring on the inpatient admission or discharge date
were excluded from the audit. Claims with a DRG-exempt inpatient rate code were excluded.
Claims for neonatal transport were excluded.

Regulations state: "By enrolling the provider agrees ... that the information provided in
relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate, and complete."

18 NYCRR 504.3(h)

Regulations state: "By enrolling, the provider agrees... to comply with the rules,
regulations and official directives of the department."

18 NYCRR 504.3(i)

Regulation 18 NYCRR 518.1(c) defines "overpayment" as "any amount not authorized to
be paid under the medical assistance program, whether paid as the result of ... improper
claiming, unacceptable practices, fraud, abuse or mistake" and provides for the recovery
by OMIG of these overpayments.

18 NYCRR 518.1(c)

Regulations state: "Payment will not be made for transportation services when:... the
transportation services are provided by a medical facility and the costs are included in the
facility's MA rate."

18 NYCRR 505.10(e)(9)(ii)

Medicaid Transportation Manual Policy Guidelines state:
"When a Medicaid recipient is admitted to a hospital (under Article 28 of the Public Health
Law), the hospital is reimbursed their inpatient rate, Diagnostic Related Group (DRG) and
per diem, which includes all transportation services for the patient.

If the admitting hospital sends a Medicaid inpatient (round trip) to another hospital for
purposes of obtaining a diagnostic or therapeutic service, the original admitting
hospital is responsible for the provision of the transportation services. The
admitting hospital is responsible for the reimbursement of  the ambulance or other
transportation service for the transport of the patient."

eMedNY Transportation Manual Policy Guidelines
Version 2007-1 (effective 9 Jan 2007), p. 9:
Version 2008-1 (effective 1 Jun 2008), p. 8;

Version 2008-2 (effective 25 Jun 2008), p. 8;
Version 2008-3 (effective 1 Sept 2008), p. 8;
Version 2009-1 (effective 1 Jan 2009), p. 10;

Version 2009-2 (effective 15 Apr 2009), p. 13;
Version 2009-3 (effective 5 May 2009), p. 12;
Version 2009-4 (effective 1 Sept 2009), p. 12;
Version 2010-1 (effective 1 Nov 2010), p. 16;
Version 2011-1 (effective 1 Jan 2011), p.16;
Version 2011-2 (effective 15 Jul 2011), p.15
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Medicaid Inpatient Manual Policy Guidelines state:
When a Medicaid patient is admitted to a hospital, the hospital is reimbursed in their

inpatient rate for all transportation services for the patient. If the admitting hospital sends
a Medicaid inpatient (round-trip) to another hospital for the purposes of obtaining a
diagnostic or therapeutic service, the original admitting hospital is responsible for the
provision of the transportation services and the reimbursement of the ambulance or other
transportation service for the transport of the patient.
The transport will not be authorized by the local social services district The costs
of transportation are to be incurred by the hospital."

eMedNY Inpatient Manual Policy Guidelines
Version 2007-1 (effective 25 May 2007), p. 16;

Version 2011-1 (effective 5 Dec 2011), p.18.

Medicaid Policy states:
"When a Medicaid recipient is admitted to a hospital (under Article 28 of the Public Health
Law), the hospital is reimbursed their inpatient rate, Diagnostic Related Group (DRG) and
per diem, which includes all transportation services for the patient
If the admitting hospital sends a Medicaid inpatient (round trip) to another hospital for
purposes of obtaining a diagnostic or therapeutic service, the original admitting
hospital is responsible for the provision of the transportation services.
The admitting hospital is responsible for the reimbursement of the ambulance or other
transportation service for the transport of the patient.

October 2006 Medicaid Update

Exhibit I is a list of disallowed transportation services provided to Medicaid recipients during
their hospital inpatient stay. Submitting these claims to Medicaid resulted in an overpayment
of $0.00.

2. Transportation Claims With Unqualified/Disqualified Driver License for Date of
Service

Transportation providers billing for ambulette services are required to include on their
Medicaid claim the driver license number of the individual driving the vehicle.

A review of ambulette claims submitted for transportation services with payment dates from
June 1, 2011 through May 31, 2012 showed that in numerous instances the driver's license
was disqualified on the date of service.

Medicaid will not provide reimbursement for any mode of transportation when the provider is
out of compliance with applicable Medicaid regulations.

Claims were identified where the Driver License Number on the claim was matched against
New York State Department of Motor Vehicles files and found to be disqualified for the date
of service on the claim.

Regulations state: "By enrolling the provider agrees ... that the information provided in
relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate, and complete."

18 NYCRR 504.3(h)
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Regulations state: "By enrolling, the provider agrees... to comply with the rules,
regulations and official directives of the department."

18 NYCRR 504.3(1)

Regulation 18 NYCRR 518.1(c) defines "overpayment" as "any amount not authorized to
be paid under the medical assistance program, whether paid as the result of ...improper
claiming, unacceptable practices, fraud, abuse or mistake" and provides for the recovery
by OMIG of these overpayments.

18 NYCRR 5181(c)

Regulations state:
"In order to receive payment for services provided to an MA recipient, a vendor must be
lawfully authorized to provide transportation services on the date the services are
rendered. A vendor of transportation services is lawfully authorized to provide such
services if it meets the following standards:

...(ii) Ambulette services must be authorized by the Department of Transportation.
Ambulette drivers must be qualified under Article 19-A of the Vehicle and Traffic Law.
Ambulette services and their drivers must comply with all requirements of the Department
of Transportation and the Department of Motor Vehicles or have a statement in writing
from the appropriate department or departments verifying that the ambulette services or
their drivers are exempt from such requirements. In addition, annbulette services
operating in New York City must be licensed by the New York City Taxi and Limousine
Commission:"

18 NYCRR 505.10(e)(6)(ii)

Medicaid Transportation Manual Policy Guidelines state:
"Transportation providers billing for ambulette services (category of service 0602) are
required to:
Include the driver license number of the individual drivihg the vehicle on their claim.
Include the license plate number of the vehicle used to transport the Medicaid client on
their claim.
If a different driver and/or vehicle returns the recipient from the medical appointment, the
license number of the driver and vehicle used for the origination of the trip should be
reported on the claim.

eMedNY Transportation Manual Policy Guidelines
Version 2011-1 (effective 1 Jan 2011), p. 16;
Version 2011-2 (effective 15 Jul 2011), p. 15;
Version 2012-1 (effective 1 Feb 2012), p. 23;
Version 2012-2 (effective 1 May 2012), p. 23.

Ambulette Transportation Providers
Additional Information Required for Billing
Transportation providers billing for ambulette services (category of service 0602) are now
required to:
Include the driver license number of the individual driving the vehicle on their claim.
Include the license plate number of the vehicle used to transport the Medicaid client on
their claim.
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Providers should diligently update their billing systems to comply with this requirement.
DOH Medicaid Update November 2004 Vol. 19, No. 11

Exhibit 2 is a list of disallowed transportation claims containing a disqualified driver's license
number for the date of service on the claim. Submitting these claims to Medicaid resulted in
an overpayment of $0.00.

3. Transportation Claims with Incorrect Driver's License for Date of Service

Transportation providers billing for ambulette services are required to include on their
Medicaid claim the driver license number of the individual driving the vehicle.

A review of annbulette claims submitted for transportation services with payment dates from
January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2011 showed that the driver's license number listed
on the claim was incorrect.

Medicaid will not provide reimbursement for any mode of transportation when the provider is
out of compliance with applicable Medicaid regulations.

Regulations state: "By enrolling the provider agrees ... that the information provided in
relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate, and complete."

18 NYCRR 504.3(h)

Regulations state: "By enrolling, the provider agrees... to comply with the rules,
regulations and official directives of the department."

18 NYCRR 504.3(i)

Regulation 18 NYCRR 518.1(c) defines "overpayment" as "any amount not authorized to
be paid under the medical assistance program, whether paid as the result of ...improper
claiming, unacceptable practices, fraud, abuse or mistake" and provides for the recovery
by OMIG of these overpayments.

18 NYCRR 518.1(c)

Regulations state: "In order to receive payment for services provided to an MA recipient,
a vendor must be lawfully authorized to provide transportation services on the date the
services are rendered. A vendor of transportation services is lawfully authorized to
provide such services if it meets the following standards:

...(ii) Ambulette services must be authorized by the Department of Transportation.
Ambulette drivers must be qualif ied under Article 19-A of the Vehicle and Traffic Law.
Ambulette services and their drivers must comply with all requirements of the Department
of Transportation and the Department of Motor Vehicles or have a statement in writing
from the appropriate department or departments verifying that the ambulette services or
their drivers are exempt from such requirements. In addition, ambulette services
operating in New York City must be licensed by the New York City Taxi and Limousine
Commission;"

18 NYCRR 505.10(e)(6)(ih
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Medicaid Transportation Manual Policy Guidelines state:
"Transportation providers billing for ambulette services (category of service 0602) are
required to:
Include the driver license number of the individual driving the vehicle on their claim.
Include the license plate number of the vehicle used to transport the Medicaid client on
their claim.
If a different driver and/or vehicle returns the recipient from the medical appointment, the
license number of the driver and vehicle used for the origination of the trip should be
reported on the claim.

eMedNY Transportation Manual Policy Guidelines
Version 2007-1 (effective 9 Jan 07), p. 9;
Version 2008-1 (effective 1 Jun 08), p. 8;

Version 2008-2 (effective 25 Jun 08), p. 8;
Version 2008-3 (effective 1 Sept 08), p. 8;
Version 2009-1 (effective 1 Jan 09), p. 10;

Version 2009-2 (effective 15 Apr 09), p. 13;
Version 2009-3 (effective 5 May 09), p. 12;

Version 2009-4 (effective 1 Sept 09), p. 12;
Version 2010-1 (effective 1 Nov 10), p. 16;
Version 2011-1 (effective 1 Jan 11), p. 16;
Version 2011-2 (effective 15 Jul 11), p. 15;
Version 2012-1 (effective 1 Feb 12), p. 23;
Version 2012-2 (effective 1 May 12), p. 23.

Ambulette Transportation Providers
Additional Information Required for Billing
Transportation providers billing for ambulette services (category of service 0602) are now
required to:
Include the driver license number of the individual driving the vehicle on their claim.
Include the license plate number of the vehicle used to transport the Medicaid client on
their claim.
Providers should diligently update their billing systems to comply with this requirement.

DOH Medicaid Update November 2004 Vol. 19, No. 11

Exhibit 3 is a list of disallowed transportation claims containing an incorrect driver's license
number for the date of service on the claim. Submitting these claims to Medicaid resulted in
an overpayment of $0.00.

4. Transportation Claims with Incorrect Vehicle License Plate for Date of Service

Transportation providers billing for ambulette services are required to include on their
Medicaid claim the license plate number of the vehicle used to transport the Medicaid
recipient.

A review of ambulette claims submitted for transportation services with payment dates from
January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2011 show that the vehicle plate number listed on the
claim was incorrect on the date of service.
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Medicaid will not provide reimbursement for any mode of transportation when the provider is
out of compliance with applicable Medicaid regulations.

Regulations state: "By enrolling the provider agrees ... that the information provided in
relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate, and complete."

18 NYCRR 504.3(h)

Regulations state: "By enrolling, the provider agrees... to comply with the rules,
regulations and official directives of the department."

18 NYCRR 504.3(i)

Regulation 18 NYCRR 518.1(c) defines "overpayment" as "any amount not authorized to
be paid under the medical assistance program, whether paid as the result of ...improper
claiming, unacceptable practices, fraud, abuse or mistake" and provides for the recovery
by OMIG of these overpayments.

18 NYCRR 518.1(c)

Regulations state: "In order to receive payment for services provided to an MA recipient,
a vendor must be lawfully authorized to provide transportation services on the date the
services are rendered. A vendor of transportation services is lawfully authorized to
provide such services if it meets the following standards:

..."(ii) Ambulette services must be authorized by the Department of Transportation.
Ambulette drivers must be qualified under Article 19-A of the Vehicle and Traffic Law.
Ambulette services and their drivers must comply with all requirements of the Department
of Transportation and the Department of Motor Vehicles or have a statement in writing
from the appropriate department or departments verifying that the ambulette services or
their drivers are exempt from such requirements. In addition, ambulette services
operating in New York City must be licensed by the New York City Taxi and Limousine
Commission:"

18 NYCRR 505.10(e)(6)00

Medicaid Transportation Manual Policy Guidelines state:
"Transportation providers billing for ambulette services (category of service 0602) are
required to:
Include the driver license number of the individual driving the vehicle on their claim.
Include the license plate number of the vehicle used to transport the Medicaid client on
their claim.
If a different driver and/or vehicle returns the recipient from the medical appointment, the
license number of the driver and vehicle used for the origination of the trip should be
reported on the claim.

eMedNY Transportation Manual Policy Guidelines
Version 2007-1 (effective 9 Jan 07), p. 9;
Version 2008-1 (effective 1 Jun 08), p. 8;

Version 2008-2 (effective 25 Jun 08), p. 8;
Version 2008-3 (effective 1 Sept 08), p. 8;
Version 2009-1 (effective 1 Jan 09), p. 10;
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Version 2009-2 (effective 15 Apr 09), p. 13;
Version 2009-3 (effective 5 May 09), p. 12;
Version 2009-4 (effective 1 Sept 09), p. 12;
Version 2010-1 (effective 1 Nov 10), p. 16;

Version 2011-1 (effective 1 Jan 2011), p. 16;
Version 2011-2 (effective 15 Jul 2011), p. 15;
Version 2012-1 (effective 1 Feb 2012), p. 23;
Version 2012-2 (effective 1 May 2012), p. 23.

Ambulette Transportation Providers
Additional Information Required for Billing
Transportation providers billing for ambulette services (category of service 0602) are now
required to:
Include the driver license number of the individual driving the vehicle on their claim.
Include the license plate number of the vehicle used to transport the Medicaid client on
their claim.
Providers should diligently update their billing systems to comply with this requirement.

DOH Medicaid Update November 2004 Vol. 19, No. 11

Exhibit 4 is a list of disallowed transportation claims containing an incorrect vehicle license
plate number for the date of service on the claim. Submitting these claims to Medicaid
resulted in an overpayment of $6,830.40.

DETERMINATION

In accordance with 18 NYCRR 518.4, interest may be collected on any overpayments
identified in this audit and will accrue at the current rate from the preliminary determination of
the overpayment. For the overpayments identified in this audit, the OMIG has determined
that accrued interest totals $541.66.

Based on this determination, the total amount of overpayment, as defined in
18 NYCRR 518.1(c) is $7,372.06, inclusive of interest.

Do not submit claim voids or adjustments in response to this Final Report.
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