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Dear :

This letter will serve as our final audit report of the recently completed review of
payments made to AAA Ambulette Services, Inc. (the Provider) under the New York State
Medicaid Program.

The New York State Department of Health (DOH) is responsible for the administration of
the Medicaid program. As part of this responsibility, the Office of the Medicaid Inspector
General (OMIG) conducts audits and reviews of various providers of Medicaid reimbursable
services, equipment and supplies. These audits and reviews are directed at assessing provider
compliance with applicable laws, regulations, rules and policies of the Medicaid program as set
forth by the Departments of Health and Mental Hygiene [Titles 10, 14 and 18 of the Official
Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York (10 NYCRR, 14
NYCRR, 18 NYCRR)] and the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) Provider
Manuals.

Medicaid reimbursement in New York State is available to lawfully authorized
ambulance, ambulette and taxi providers for transportation services furnished to Medicaid
eligible persons going to or from the site of Medicaid covered medical services. Other carriers
are specifically approved to transport Medicaid recipients to and from prescribed day treatment
services. Transportation providers and their drivers must comply with all applicable state,
county and municipal requirements for legal operation, including those for licensing, inspection,
training, staffing and equipment. Applicable regulations of the State Departments of
Transportation, Health and Motor Vehicles are referenced in the Department's governing
regulation, Title 18 NYCRR Section 505.10.
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A common requirement for all Medicaid transportation providers is the need to obtain
prior authorization for all non-emergency services that are provided. Once authorized, a service
must be rendered to receive reimbursement. Each billing claim for service submitted for
Medicaid payment must conform to the billing requirements contained in the MMIS Provider
Manual for Transportation and rate schedules issued by county social service districts as part of
their local transportation plans.

A review of payments to AAA Ambulette Services, Inc. for transportation services paid
by Medicaid for Nassau and Suffolk County recipients from January 1, 2005, through
December 31, 2008, was recently completed. During the audit period, $7,757,150.99 was paid
for 88,418 services rendered to 2,463 recipients. This review consisted of a random sample of
200 services involving 150 recipients with Medicaid payments of $18,106.59. The purpose of
this audit was to verify that: drivers and/or vehicles were properly licensed, certified and/or
registered; prior authorizations were obtained; all billing and rate requirements were met;
Medicaid reimbursable services were rendered for the dates billed; appropriate procedure codes
were billed for services rendered; vendor records contained the documentation required by the
regulations; and claims for payment were submitted in accordance with Department regulations
and the Provider Manuals for Transportation.

The Provider's failure to comply with Title(s) 10, 14 and/or 18 of the Official Compilation
of Codes, Rules and Regulations of the State of New York (NYCRR) and the MMIS Provider
Manual for Transportation resulted in a total sample overpayment of $1,130.14.

The statistical sampling methodology employed allows for extrapolation of the sample
findings to the universe of cases (18 NYCRR Section 519.18). The mean per unit point
estimate of the amount overpaid is $499,624. The lower confidence limit of the amount
overpaid is $265,246. We are 95% certain that the actual amount of the overpayment is greater
than the lower confidence limit (Exhibit l).

The following detailed findings reflect the results of our audit. This audit report
incorporates consideration of any additional documentation and information presented in
response to the draft audit report dated February 5, 2013.

DETAILED FINDINGS

In addition to any specific detailed findings, rules and/or regulations which may be listed
below, the following regulations pertain to all audits:

Regulations state: "By enrolling the provider agrees: (a) to prepare and to maintain
contemporaneous records demonstrating its right to receive payment... and to keep for a
period of six years from the date the care, services or supplies were furnished, all records
necessary to disclose the nature and extent of services furnished and all information regarding
claims for payment submitted by, or on behalf of, the provider ... (e) to submit claims for
payment only for services actually furnished and which were medically necessary or otherwise
authorized under the Social Services Law when furnished and which were provided to eligible
persons; (f) to submit claims on officially authorized claim forms in the manner specified by the
department in conformance with the standards and procedures for claims submission; ... (h)
that the information provided in relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate and
complete; and (i) to comply with the rules, regulations and official directives of the department."

18 NYCRR Section 504.3
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Regulations state: "Fee-for-service providers. (1) All providers ... must prepare and maintain
contemporaneous records demonstrating their right to receive payment ... All records
necessary to disclose the nature and extent of services furnished and the medical necessity
therefor ... must be kept by the provider for a period of six years from the date the care,
services or supplies were furnished or billed, whichever is later. (2) All information regarding
claims for payment submitted by or on behalf of the provider is subject to audit for a period of six
years from the date the care, services or supplies were furnished or billed, whichever is later,
and must be furnished, upon request, to the department ... for audit and review."

18 NYCRR Section 517.3(b)

Regulations require that bills for medical care, services and supplies contain patient name, case
number and date of service; itemization of the volume and specific types of care, services and
supplies provided; the unit price and total cost of the care, services and supplies provided; and
a dated certification by the provider that the care, services and supplies itemized have been in
fact furnished; that the amounts listed are in fact due and owing; that such records as are
necessary to disclose fully the extent of care, services and supplies provided to individuals
under the New York State Medicaid program will be kept for a period of not less than six years
from the date of payment; and that the provider understands that payment and satisfaction of
this claim will be from Federal, State and local public funds and that he or she may be
prosecuted under applicable Federal and State laws for any false claims, statements or
documents, or concealment of a material fact provided.

18 NYCRR Section 540.7(a)(1)-(3) and (8)

Regulations state: "An overpayment includes any amount not authorized to be paid under the
medical assistance program, whether paid as the result of inaccurate or improper cost reporting,
improper claiming, unacceptable practices, fraud, abuse or mistake."

18 NYCRR Section 518.1(c)

Regulations state: "Vendor payments for medical care and other items of medical assistance
shall not be made unless such care or other items of assistance have been furnished on the
basis of the appropriate authorization prescribed by the rules of the board and regulations of the
department."

18 NYCRR Section 540.1

Regulations state: "The department may require repayment from the person submitting an
incorrect or improper claim, or the person causing such claim to be submitted, or the person
receiving payment for the claim."

18 NYCRR Section 518.3(a)

Regulations state: "The department may require repayment for inappropriate, improper,
unnecessary or excessive care, services or supplies from the person furnishing them, or the
person under whose supervision they were furnished, or the person causing them to be
furnished...."

18 NYCRR Section 518.3(b)

Regulations state: "Medical care, services or supplies ordered or prescribed will be considered
excessive or not medically necessary unless the medical basis and specific need for them are
fully and properly documented in the client's medical record."

18 NYCRR Section 518.3(b)
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1. Driver is Not NYS DMV 19A Certified

Regulations state: "Ambulette services must be authorized by the Department of
Transportation. Ambulette drivers must be qualified under Article 19-A of the Vehicle and
Traffic Law. Ambulette services and their drivers must comply with all requirements of
the Department of Transportation and the Department of Motor Vehicles or have a
statement in writing from the appropriate department or departments verifying that the
ambulette services or their drivers are exempt from such requirements. In addition,
ambulette services operating in New York City must be licensed by the New York City
Taxi and Limousine Commission;"

18 NYCRR Section 505.10(e)(6) (ii)

The Medicaid policy states: "Medicaid reimbursement is available to lawfully authorized
ambulette providers for ambulette transportation furnished to recipients whenever
necessary to obtain medical care. Transportation services are limited to the provision of
passenger occupied transportation to or from Medicaid covered services."

MMIS Transportation Manual Policy Guidelines, Version 2004-1, Section ll
Version 2006-1 (effective 20 Oct 06), Section ll

Version 2006-2 (effective 1 Dec 2006), Section ll
Version 2007-1 (effective 9 Jan 07), Section ll
Version 2008-1 (effective 1 Jun 08), Section ll

Version 2008-2 (effective 25 Jun 08), Section ll
Version 2008-3 (effective 1 Sept 08), Section ll

In 7 instances pertaining to 7 recipients, the Provider did not ensure its drivers
complied with DMV certification requirements of Article 19A of the Vehicle and Traffic
Law and therefore had non-19A certified drivers. This resulted in a sample overpayment
of $525.40 (Exhibit II).

2. Missing/Inaccurate Information on Medicaid Claim

Regulations state: "By enrolling the provider agrees.... to submit claims on officially
authorized claim forms in the manner specified by the department in conformance with
the standards and procedures for claims submission" and "that the information provided
in relation to any claim for payment shall be true, accurate and complete".

18 NYCRR Sections 504.3(f) and (h)

Medicaid policy states: "...all claims (electronic and paper) submitted to Medicaid by
nonemergency ambulette transportation providers (category of service 0602) must
contain the Driver's License Number; and the Vehicle License Plate Number."

DOH Medicaid Update November 2005 Vol. 20, No. 12

Medicaid policy states: "Transportation providers billing for services when an ambulette
vehicle is used are required to:

Include the driver license number of the individual driving the vehicle on their
claim.
Include the license plate number of the vehicle used to transport the Medicaid
client on their claim.

If a different driver and/or vehicle returns the Medicaid enrollee/s from the medical
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appointment, the license number of the driver and vehicle used for the origination of the
trip should be reported on the claim."

MMIS Transportation Manual Policy Guidelines,
Version 2006-1 (effective 20 Oct 06), Section II
Version 2006-2 (effective 1 Dec 06), Section II
Version 2007-1 (effective 9 Jan 07), Section II
Version 2008-1 (effective 1 Jun 08), Section II

Version 2008-2 (effective 25 Jun 08), Section II
Version 2008-3 (effective 1 Sept 08), Section II

Medicaid policy states: "Medicaid policy requires that all Ambulette Providers (Category
of Service 0602) enter the ordering provider's Medicaid identification number, or license
number and profession code, when submitting a claim to Computer Sciences
Corporation.
Failure to accurately report the ordering provider's identification number will prevent the
payment of claims."

DOH Medicaid Update October 2006 Vol. 21, No. 10

In 2 instances pertaining to 2 recipients, the claim contained inaccurate
information in the vehicle plate number field. This resulted in a sample overpayment of
$200 (Exhibit III).

In 2 instances pertaining to 1 recipients, the claim contained inaccurate
information in the ordering provider field. This resulted in a sample overpayment of
$169.22 (Exhibit IV).

3. Missinq/Incomplete Documentation

Regulations state: "By enrolling the provider agrees... to prepare and to maintain
contemporaneous records demonstrating its right to receive payment under the medical
assistance program and to keep for a period of six years from the date the care, services
or supplies were furnished, all records necessary to disclose the nature and extent of
services furnished and all information regarding claims for payment submitted by, or on
behalf of, the provider and to furnish such records and information, upon request, to the
department, the Secretary of the United States Department of Health and Human
Services, the Deputy Attorney General for Medicaid Fraud Control and the New York
State Department of Health[.]"

18 NYCRR Section 504.3(a)

Regulations state: "Payment to a provider of ambulette services will only be made for
services documented in contemporaneous records in accordance with section 504.3 of
this Title. Documentation must include:

(i) the recipient's name and MA identification number;
(ii) the origination of the trip;
(iii) the destination of the trip;
(iv) the date and time of service; and
(v) the name of the driver transporting the recipient."

18 NYCRR Section 505.10 (e)(8)
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Medicaid policy states: "Record Keeping Requirements: Trip Tickets
Payment to a provider of ambulette services will only be made for services documented
in contemporaneous records, typically referred to as "trip tickets." Documentation shall
include the following:

D Recipient's name and Medicaid identification number;
D Origination of the trip;
D Destination of the trip;
D Date and time of service; and,
D Name of the driver transporting the recipient"

MMIS Transportation Manual Policy Guidelines, Version 2004-1, Section II

In 1 instance, contemporaneous documentation of a transportation service was
missing. This resulted in a sample overpayment of $166.30 (Exhibit V).

In 1 instance, contemporaneous documentation of a transportation service
supporting the driver name was missing. This resulted in a sample overpayment of
$69.22 (Exhibit VI).

Total sample overpayments for this audit amounts to $1,130.14.

In accordance with 18 NYCRR Part 518 which regulates the collection of overpayments,
your repayment options are described below. If you decide to repay the lower confidence limit
amount of $265,246, one of the following repayment options must be selected within 20 days
from the date of this letter:

OPTION #1: Make full payment by check or money order within 20 days of the date of
the final audit report. The check should be made payable to the New York State
Department of Health and be sent with the attached Remittance Advice to:

New York State Department of Health
Medicaid Financial Management, B.A.M.
GNARESP Corning Tower, Room 2739

File #: 10-2244
Albany, New York 12237-0048

OPTION #2: Enter into a repayment agreement with the Office of the Medicaid
Inspector General. If your repayment terms exceed 90 days from the date of the final
audit report, recoveries of amounts due are subject to interest charges at the prime rate
plus 2%. If the process of establishing the repayment agreement exceeds 20 days from
the date of the final audit report, the OMIG will impose a 50% withhold after 20 days until
the agreement is established. OMIG acceptance of the repayment agreement is based
on your repaying the Medicaid overpayment as agreed. The OMIG will adjust the rate of
recovery, or require payment in full, if your unpaid balance is not being repaid as agreed.
In addition, if you receive an adjustment in your favor while you owe funds to the State,
such adjustment will be applied against any amount owed. If you wish to enter into a
repayment agreement, please contact the Bureau of Collections Management within 20
days at the following:
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Bureau of Collections Management
New York State Office of the Medicaid Inspector General

800 North Pearl Street
Albany, New York 12204
Phone #:

Fax#:

If you choose not to settle this audit through repayment of the lower confidence limit, you
have the right to challenge these findings by requesting an administrative hearing where the
OMIG would seek and defend the meanpoint estimate of $499,624. As allowed by state
regulations, you must make your request for a hearing, in writing, within sixty (60) days of the
date of this report to:

General Counsel
Office of Counsel

New York State Office of the Medicaid Inspector General
800 North Pearl Street

Albany, New York 12204

Questions regarding the request for a hearing should be directed to Office of Counsel, at
.

Issues you may raise shall be limited to those issues relating to determinations
contained in the final audit report. Your hearing request may not address issues regarding the
methodology used to determine the rate, or any issue that was raised at a proceeding to appeal
a rate determination.

At the hearing you have the right to:

a) be represented by an attorney or other representative, or to represent yourself;
b) present witnesses and written and/or oral evidence to explain why the action taken is

wrong; and
c) cross examine witnesses of the Department of Health and/or the OMIG.

The OMIG reserves the right to conduct further reviews of your participation in the
Medicaid Program, take action where appropriate, and recover monies owed through the
initiation of a civil lawsuit or other legal mechanisms including but not limited to the recovery of
state tax refunds pursuant to Section 206 of the Public Health Law and Section 171-f of the
State Tax Law.

Should you have any questions, please contact me at .


